Insomnia vs. Hypersomnia: Yes You Can Have Both

What is insomnia? Well for starters, there are two branches. First, there is Acute insomnia. When someone has Acute insomnia, they are only temporarily affected by the inability to sleep. The reason for the short sleep disruption is due to high levels of stress. An example could be that there is an exam coming up, job loss, or money problems.

First, there is Acute insomnia. When someone has Acute insomnia, they are only temporarily affected by the inability to sleep. The reason for the short sleep disruption is due to high levels of stress. An example could be that there is an exam coming up, job loss, or money problems.

Back when I only suffered from Acute insomnia, I found it extremely helpful to make lists. I would always carry around a pad of paper to scribble on, so whenever I got anxiety, I could make lists of what I had to do and how much time I needed to do it. Although the times were always off, it was nice to be able to see that the tasks ahead of me were doable. I recommend this planner by DayMinder as it is the one I used and still use to this day.

Second, there is Chronic insomnia. An individual has chronic insomnia when sleep disruption happens three or more times a week and goes on for three months or more. Chronic insomnia is difficult to treat, as it can be due to the environment, the individual’s own bad sleeping habits, or from other clinical disorders.

I currently suffer from Chronic insomnia and have yet to find a “cure.” I still make lists on the daily, but the lack of sleep is not longer just because of stress. This fact is the most difficult for people to understand. When I am going on a week of only 10 hours of sleep total, I am not lying awake at night due to anxiety (to clarify, there are some nights that I am a ball of anxiety), but rather it can be a numb feeling.Your body turns off, but your mind refuses to, and do to this, your body lays there in confusion.

 

So what is Hypersomnia? Hypersomnia is excessive daytime sleepiness where the person usually passes out for more than 10 hours. About once a month I have Hypersomnia. The first few times, I believe I scared my roommates half to death because these episodes could last days. The longest I have slept for is about 48 hours. However, during these times of extreme sleeping, it does not feel like you are sleeping long. For me, it is like your body has completely shut off. Not hibernation. Just off. You wake up and its like you didn’t even sleep as you’re still exhausted.

 

I hope this gave you some insight on the different degrees of sleep disorders, make sure to comment if you have tips or questions.

Leave a Reply

